• Register

History in Brief

The Roller Hawks entered the National Wheelchair Basketball League in 2001, becoming the first regional team to play in the National Wheelchair Basketball League (NWBL). Although many of the athletes who play in the League are Australian representatives and/or Paralympians, they are not professional athletes as their NBL able-bodied counterpars are.

The Venue

The team plays out of the Shellharbour City Stadium, the No 1 sporting facility for disablity sport in the country and the Snake Pit, Beaton Park, the spiritual home of Illawarra basketball. Shelharbour City Stadium's status as a premier facility has seen the small south coast region of Shellharbour host International fixtures and even a Paralympic qualifying tournament.


The Roller Hawks club is affiliated with the National Wheelchair Basketball League and it's state-based Wheelchair Sport Association, www.wsnsw.org.au. A volunteer management committee administers the club, its committee members a mix of members of the Community with representations from the team's coaching and playing staff.

Team Mix

The nucleus of players is from the local area, and for the first 10 years of their existence with players from New Zealand and usually an Import Player. The NWBL charter allowing teams one import player on a given year's roster. For several years, however, the Roller Hawks, and in fact many of the NWBL clubs have no longer relied on high calibre import players. Athlete skill has increased dramatically and with Australia now with a high performance global profile, local and home grown talent is more than meeting supply demand.

Past Imports

Roller Hawks Imports:

  • Joey Johnston ~ Canada
  • Nick Taylor  ~ South Africa
  • Yvon Rouillard  ~ Canada
  • Jesus Romero Martin ~ Spain (2008)


Income received is in the form of Sponsorship, Fundraising Events and Grants. To see how you can support the Roller Hawks contact Geoff Adams 0405 193 281


Team Highlights



  • NWBL Champions 2003 (defeating Brisbane 87-57)
  • NWBL Champions 2011 (defeating Perth Wheelcats 95-85)
  • NWBL Champions 2012 (defeating Perth Wheelcats 79-59)
  • NWBL Champions 2017 (defeating Sydney Metro Blues 79-70)
  • NWBL Champions 2018 (defeating Queensland Spinning Bullets (72-65)
  • NWBL Champions 2019 (defeating Queensland Spinning Bullets (71-62)