• Register

The Wollongong Roller Hawks have celebrated another successful season at their annual End of Season Dinner held at the Albion Park RSL.



The night recognised the valuable contributions made to Illawarra Wheelchair Basketball by people both on and off the court.




In attendance were Wollongong City Mayor, Gordon Bradbury and Deputy Mayor of Shellharbour City, Paul Rankin, along with representatives from some of the Roller Hawks valued sponsors, Protech Auto Repair, Figtree Travel, Wheelchair Sports NSW, Albion Park RSL, Rotary Shellharbour, Mantra Wollongong and Veolia.


Brett Stibners was named Most Valuable Player and also took home the inaugural Player’s Player Award. Brett, along with Michael Auprince and Sam White were unable to attend the night due to being overseas on Australian Rollers commitments.


Nick Scott, playing in his first season with the senior squad won Most Improved whilst the Okkonen Award for Club Person of the Year went to team mechanic Hector Bonilla.


Also in attendance were the Roller Hawks development squad with Didem Yildarem winning the Development Squad MVP and Tim Rushby-Smith winning Most Improved.


The club’s first active octogenarian, Reg Lindsey was also honoured with a special ‘Encouragement Award’ which Eino Okkonen described as more of an award that should encourage everyone else!


The night was also a great fundraiser and the club wishes to thank all those who attended along with everyone who has supported the team throughout the year.